SAFIR2014 - Interim seminar, 21-22.3.2013

Documents in PDF-format


Day 1 21.3.2013

Opening session:

Opening remarks, Herkko Plit, MEE
Safety for all, Tero Varjoranta, STUK – Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority
Overview of SAFIR2014 (years 2011-2012) – Kaisa Simola, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland

Research area 1: Man, Organisation and Society

Managing safety culture throughout the lifecycle of nuclear plants (MANSCU), Pia Oedewald
Sustainable and future oriented expertise (SAFEX2014), Krista Pahkin

Research area 2: Automation and Control Room

Coverage and rationality of the software I&C safety assurance (CORSICA), Timo Varkoi
Human-automation collaboration in incident and accident situations (HACAS), Jari Laarni
Safety evaluation and reliability analysis of nuclear automation (SARANA), Keijo Heljanko

Research area 3: Fuel Research and Reactor Analysis

Criticality safety and transport methods in reactor analysis (CRISTAL), Karin Rantamäki
Three-dimensional reactor analyses (KOURA), Elina Syrjälahti
Neutronics, nuclear fuel and burnup (NEPAL), Jarmo Ala-Heikkilä
Extensive fuel modelling (PALAMA), Ville Tulkki

Research area 4: Thermal Hydraulics

Enhancement of safety evaluation tools (ESA), Ismo Karppinen
Experimental studies on containment phenomena (EXCOP) & Numerical modelling of condensation pool (NUMPOOL), Markku Puustinen & Timo Pättikangas
Improvement of PACTEL facility simulation environment (PACSIM), Juhani Vihavainen
PWR PACTEL experiments (PAX), Vesa Riikonen
Modelling of pressure transients in steam generators (SGEN), Timo Pättikangas

Panel: international co-operation in nuclear power plant safety

H. Plit (MEE, chairman), M-L. Järvinen (STUK), L. Heikinheimo (TVO), H. Tuomisto (FPH),
J. Hyvärinen (Fennovoima), E.K. Puska (VTT), R. Kyrki-Rajamäki (LUT), R. Salomaa (Aalto), L. Skånberg (SSM), M. Martín-Ramos (EC)

Day 2 22.3.2013

Research area 5: Severe Accidents

Core debris coolability and environmental consequence analysis (COOLOCE-E), Elina Takasuo
Thermal hydraulics of severe accidents (TERMOSAN), Tuomo Sevón
Transport and chemistry of fission products (TRAFI), Teemu Kärkelä
Reactor vessel failures, vapour explosions and spent fuel pool accidents (VESPA), Niina Könönen

Research area 6: Structural Safety of Reactor Circuits

Environmental influence on cracking susceptibility and ageing of nuclear materials (ENVIS), Ulla Ehrnstén
Fracture assessment of reactor circuit (FAR), Pekka Nevasmaa
Monitoring of the structural integrity of materials and components in reactor circuit (MAKOMON), Tarja Jäppinen
Advanced surveillance technique and embrittlement modelling (SURVIVE), Matti Valo
Water chemistry and plant operating reliability (WAPA), Timo Saario

Research area 7: Construction Safety

Impact 2014 (IMPACT2014) & Structural mechanics analyses of soft and hard impacts (SMASH) Ari Vepsä
Seismic safety of nuclear power plants. Targets for research and education (SESA), Ludovic Fülöp

Research area 8: Probabilistic Risk Analysis (PRA)

Extreme weather and nuclear power plants (EXWE), Hilppa Gregow
Risk assessment of large fire loads (LARGO), Simo Hostikka
PRA development and application (PRADA), Ilkka Karanta & Antti Toppila

Research area 9: Development of Research Infrastructure

Enhancement of Lappeenranta instrumentation of nuclear safety experiments (ELAINE), Heikki Purhonen
Renewal of hot cell infrastructure (REHOT), Wade Karlsen


Safety requirements specification and management in nuclear power plants (SAREMAN),
T. Tommila
Development of Finnish Monte Carlo reactor physics code (KÄÄRME), J. Leppänen
Radionuclide source term analysis (RASTA), V. Tulkki
OpenFOAM CFD-solver for nuclear safety related flow simulations (NUFOAM), T. Pättikangas
Uncertainty Evaluation for Best Estimate Analyses (UBEA), J. Kurki
Chemistry of fission products (FISKE), T. Kekki
RI-ISI analyses and inspection reliability of piping systems (RAIPSYS)
Fatigue affected by residual stresses, environment and thermal fluctuations (FRESH),
M. Chauhan
Aging management of concrete structures in nuclear power plants (MANAGE), M. Ferreira
FinPSA knowledge transfer (FINPSA-TRAN), T. Mätäsniemi
Enhancement of Lappeenranta instrumentation of nuclear safety experiments (ELAINE),
H. Purhonen
Renewal of hot cell infrastructure (REHOT), W. Karlsen


  SAFIR2014. The Finnish Research Programme on Nuclear Power Plant Safety 2011-2014. Interim Report [PDF]

|  SAFIR2014  | The Finnish Research ogramme on Nuclear Power Plant Safety 2011 - 2014 |